MicroOutlaws.com Forums

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest sellracing

Methonal Purge

Guest sellracing

I'm new to this and was wondering what types of rigs most people are using to purge the methanol from their engines following a night of racing?

Are there rigs for purchase or are most home made?

Thanks for the help.

Start the motor. Once its running have a can of WD40 close by and then shut off the fuel and keep the engine running by squirting the WD40 into the air cleaner. When you can smell the WD40 out the exhaust, its ready.

I just bought a micro and the way I was told to purge was not with WD-40

We have a gas can with a line attached with an A-N fitting. Turn the fuel off @ the tank and hook gasoline to the line. Start the engine and when it has a noticebly different sound and smell it is purged of methanol.

I tried to reply to this last night and couldnt, so I posed the same question @ MaXimum Dirt. It amazed me there were about 6 reply's and everyone had a different way of doing it.

Most actually take their carbs apart every week, which surprised me.

Anyhow good luck.

Jeff Palazzolo

Pacific (St. Louis) Mo

Guest sellracing

Guys,

Thanks for the ideas.

Jeff, I was told the same thing. Can you possible send me a picture of how your fuel rig is constructed? The guys I bought the car from had the same type of rig but I didn't have a chance to look at it closely before we left.

My email is robert.sell@bdhhi.com.

Thanks again for all of the support.

Have a shutoff between the fuel tank and fuel filter. Place a cappable "T" in the line after the shut off. Find a 16 oz. plastic container that has a tapered outlet similar to mustard/ketchup squeeze containers and fasten fuel line long enough to reach the "T". Wrap a heavy wire around it and have a loop on the other end so you can hang it from the roll cage.